The mission of the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), a component of the U.S. Department of Justice, is to provide federal leadership in developing the national capacity to reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking. For more information, please visit www.justice.gov/ovw.

Tribal Leader Invitation Letter

Tribal Leader Invitation Letter

The U.S. Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women invites Tribal Leaders to join the 2016 Annual Government-to-Government Violence Against Women Tribal Consultation. The purpose of this consultation is to solicit recommendations on enhancing safety for American Indian and Alaska Native women, strengthening the Federal response to the crimes of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, stalking, and sex trafficking, and administering grant funds. View the Official Tribal Leader Invitation Letter here.

2015 Annual Tribal Consultation Report and Cover Letter

Annual Report Cover Letter

In addition to the Annual Tribal Consultation Report, The following cover letter was attached to all hard copies mailed to tribes. View the Cover Letter here.

2015 Annual Tribal Consultation Report

The U.S. Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women has mailed hard copies of the report to all those who were in attendance last year. The PDF version is now available for viewing. View the 2015 Annual Tribal Consultation Report here.

2nd Tribal Conference Call – July 20, 2016

On behalf of the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), we welcome your participation in the 2nd Tribal leader conference call to discuss the 2016 Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) Tribal Consultation. The call is scheduled for Wednesday, July 20, 2016, at 4:00 PM Eastern time.

The purpose of this call is to follow up on the recommendations to incorporate the OVW Annual Consultation with this year’s National Indian Nations Conference taking place in Palm Springs, California.


To participate in the meeting, please call the toll free number:
Phone: 877-783-2009
Passcode: 749824

The meeting time is as follows:
4:00 PM EDT
3:00 PM CDT
2:00 PM MDT
1:00 PM PDT
12:00 PM ADT


If you are unable to participate, but would like to share your thoughts and opinions with OVW regarding the location and date, please contact Ms. Lorraine Edmo at Lorraine.Edmo@usdoj.gov. Thank you.